H. Maurer. Alle Bilder können frei verwendet werden aber es wird ersucht H. Maurer und einen Link auf zulegen.

The Kingdom of Bhutan is a mountainous, landlocked country in the Himalayas in South Asia. Its neighbours are China to the north, Nepal to the west and India in the east, south and west. Since 2008 Bhutan is a constitutional monarchy. It is a member of the United Nations and the South Asian Association for regional Cooperation (SAARC).
In Bhutan approximately 0,75million people live (status 2005) on a total state area of 46.500km² resulting in an average density of 16,1 inhabitants/km². The majority of the people living in Bhutan are Bhutanese people; Nepalese and Tibetan partly fled to Nepal and India. Most people live in small, rural settlements. Thimphu, the capital, is the largest city with approximately 80.000 inhabitants (status 2005).
The official language is Dzongkha, furthermore numerous Tibeto-Burman languages are spoken, as well as Nepali in southern areas and other Indo-Aryan languages. Buddhism is the state religion and the religion of nearly three quarters of the population. About 20% are Hindu and in the southern areas a Muslim minority resides.