Cyprus is the third largest and third most populous island in the Mediterranean, and a member state of the European Union.

Cyprus was placed under British administration in 1878 and formally annexed by Britain in 1914.

With an advanced, high-income economy and a very high Human Development Index, the Republic of Cyprus is a member of the Commonwealth since 1961 and was a founding member of the Non-Aligned Movement until it joined the European Union on 1 May 2004.

On 1 January 2008, the Republic of Cyprus joined the eurozone.

  • The largest export partner of Cyprus is Greece.
  • The largest import partner of Cyprus is Greece.
  • There are 15 seaports in Cyprus.

Surprising facts about Nobel Prize winners#

  • The first Cyprus born Nobel Prize winner got this award quite late, 109 years after first Nobel Prize was awarded in 1901.

Tourist Attraction#

Former warehouses hold hotels and yachts share space with fishing boats in Keryneia Bay.

National Facts#

  • The national animal of Cyprus is Cypriot mouflon.
  • Rose is the national flower of Cyprus.
  • The famous dish of Cyprus is Fasolada.
Fasolada, Foto: source: Wikicommons unter CC
Foto: source: Wikicommons unter CC


  1. Text marked as italic is taken from unter CC