The islands were first explored by Europeans in the 16th century, and were made part of the Spanish East Indies in 1574.

Along with other Pacific Islands, Palau was made a part of the United States-governed Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands in 1947.

Having voted against joining the Federated States of Micronesia in 1979, the islands gained full sovereignty in 1994 under a Compact of Free Association with the United States.

  • There are 5 seaports in Palau.

Tourist Attraction#

There are more than 250 islands in Palau—though most people live in the capital city.

National Facts#

  • The national dish of Palau is Qabili.


  1. Text marked as italic is taken from unter CC