Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha
conventional short form: none
etymology: Saint Helena was discovered in 1502 by Galician navigator Joao da NOVA, sailing in the service of the Kingdom of Portugal, who named it "Santa Helena"; Ascension was named in 1503 by Portuguese navigator Afonso de ALBUQUERQUE who sighted the island on the Feast Day of the Ascension; Tristan da Cunha was discovered in 1506 by Portuguese explorer Tristao da CUNHA who christened the main island after himself (the name was subsequently anglicized)
Dependency statusoverseas territory of the UK
Government typeparliamentary democracy (Legislative Council); limited self-governing overseas territory of the UK
CapitalJamestown Jamestown
geographic coordinates: 15 56 S, 5 43 W
time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions3 administrative areas; Ascension, Saint Helena, Tristan da Cunha
Independencenone (overseas territory of the UK)
National holidayBirthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, third Monday in April (1926)
Constitutionseveral previous; latest effective 1 September 2009 (The St. Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Constitution Order 2009) (2016)
Legal systemEnglish common law and local statutes
Citizenshipsee United Kingdom
Suffrage18 years of age
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)
head of government: Governor Lisa PHILLIPS (since 25 April 2016)
cabinet: Executive Council consists of the governor, 3 ex-officio officers, and 5 elected members of the Legislative Council
elections/appointments: none; the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch

note: the constitution order provides for an administrator for Ascension and Tristan da Cunha appointed by the governor
Legislative branchdescription: unicameral Legislative Council (17 seats including the speaker and deputy speaker; 12 members directly elected in a single countrywide constituency by simple majority vote and 3 ex-officio members - the chief secretary, financial secretary, and attorney general; members serve 4-year terms)
elections: last held on 17 July 2013 (next to be held in 2017)
election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - independents 12

note: each voter can vote for up to 12 candidates; the Constitution Order provides for separate Island Councils for both Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
Judicial branchhighest resident court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president and 2 justices); Supreme Court (consists of the chief justice - a non-resident - and NA judges); note - appeals beyond the Court of Appeal are heard by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London)
judge selection and term of office: Court of Appeal and Supreme Court justices appointed by the governor acting upon the instructions from a secretary of state acting on behalf of Queen ELIZABETH II; justices of both courts appointed until retirement at age 70, but can be extended
subordinate courts: Magistrate's Court; Small Claims Court; Juvenile Court
Political parties and leadersnone
Political pressure groups and leadersother: private sector; unions
International organization participationUPU
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
Flag descriptionblue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Saint Helenian shield centered on the outer half of the flag; the upper third of the shield depicts a white plover (wire bird) on a yellow field; the remainder of the shield depicts a rocky coastline on the left, offshore is a three-masted sailing ship with sails furled but flying an English flag
National symbol(s)Saint Helena plover (bird)
National anthem
note: as a territory of the UK, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)