Norfolk Island: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: Territory of Norfolk Island
conventional short form: Norfolk Island
etymology: named by British explorer Captain James COOK after Mary HOWARD, Duchess of Norfolk, in 1774
Dependency statusself-governing territory of Australia; administered from Canberra by the Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport
Government typeparliamentary democracy (formerly the Legislative Assembly); overseas territory of Australia; note - in May 2015, the Australian Parliament passed the Norfolk Island Legislation Amendment Bill 2015 which abolished Norfolk Island self-government and replaced it with an interim Advisory Council effective 1 July 2015
CapitalKingston Kingston
geographic coordinates: 29 03 S, 167 58 E
time difference: UTC+11 (16 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisionsnone (territory of Australia)
Independencenone (territory of Australia)
National holidayBounty Day (commemorates the arrival of Pitcairn Islanders), 8 June (1856)
Constitutionprevious 1913, 1957; latest effective 7 August 1979; amended many times, last in 2015 (2016)
Legal systemEnglish common law and the laws of Australia
Citizenshipsee Australia
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by the Australian governor general
head of government: Administrator Gary HARDGRAVE (since 1 July 2014)
cabinet: Executive Council consists of 4 Legislative Assembly members
elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; administrator appointed by the governor general of Australia for a 2-year term and represents the monarch and Australia
Legislative branchdescription: unicameral Norfolk Island Regional Council (5 seats; members directly elected by simple majority vote to serve 4-year terms)
elections: elections last held 28 May 2016; next to be held 2020
election results: party by seats - independents 5

note: following an administrative restructuring of local government, the Legislative Assembly was dissolved on 18 June 2015 to be replaced by an interim Norfolk Island Advisory Council effective 1 July 2015; the Advisory Council consisted of 5 members appointed by the Norfolk Island administrator based on nominations from the community; following elections on 28 May 2016, the new Norfolk Island Regional Council commenced operations on 1 July 2016
Judicial branchhighest court(s): Supreme Court of Norfolk Island (consists of the chief justice and several justices); note - appeals beyond the Supreme Court of Norfolk Island are heard by the Federal Court and the High Court of Australia
judge selection and term of office: justices appointed by the governor general of Australia from among justices of the Federal Court of Australia; justices serve until mandatory retirement at age 70
subordinate courts: Petty Court of Sessions; specialized courts including a Coroner's Court and the Employment Tribunal
Political parties and leadersNorfolk Island Labor Party (Mike KELLY)
Norfolk Liberals (John BROWN)
Political pressure groups and leadersnone
International organization participationUPU
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (territory of Australia)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (territory of Australia)
Flag descriptionthree vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and green with a large green Norfolk Island pine tree centered in the slightly wider white band; green stands for the rich vegetation on the island, and the pine tree - endemic to the island - is a symbol of Norfolk Island
note: somewhat reminiscent of the flag of Canada with its use of only two colors and depiction of a prominent local floral symbol in the central white band; also resembles the green and white triband of Nigeria
National symbol(s)Norfolk Island pine
National anthemname: "Come Ye Blessed"
lyrics/music: New Testament/John Prindle SCOTT

note: the local anthem, whose lyrics consist of the words from Matthew 25:34-36, 40, is also known as "The Pitcairn Anthem;" as a territory of Australia, "God Save the Queen" is official (see Australia); however, the island does not recognize "Advance Australia Fair"