Bermuda: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Bermuda
former: Somers Islands
etymology: the islands making up Bermuda are named after Juan de BERMUDEZ, an early 16th century Spanish sea captain and the first European explorer of the archipelago
Dependency statusoverseas territory of the UK
Government typeparliamentary democracy (Parliament); self-governing overseas territory of the UK
CapitalHamilton Hamilton
geographic coordinates: 32 17 N, 64 47 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins second Sunday in March; ends first Sunday in November
Administrative divisions9 parishes and 2 municipalities*; Devonshire, Hamilton, Hamilton*, Paget, Pembroke, Saint George*, Saint George's, Sandys, Smith's, Southampton, Warwick
Independencenone (overseas territory of the UK)
National holidayBermuda Day, 24 May
Constitutionseveral previous (dating to 1684); latest entered into force 8 June 1968; amended several times, last in 2012 (2016)
Legal systemEnglish common law
International law organization participationhas not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; non-party state to the ICCt
Citizenshipcitizenship by birth: no
citizenship by descent only: at least one parent must be a citizen of the UK
dual citizenship recognized: yes
residency requirement for naturalization: 10 years
Suffrage18 years of age; universal
Executive branchchief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor John RANKIN (since 5 December 2016)
head of government: Premier Michael DUNKLEY (since 20 May 2014)
cabinet: Cabinet nominated by the premier, appointed by the governor
elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition usually appointed premier by the governor
Legislative branchdescription: bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (11 seats; members appointed - 3 by the governor, 5 by the premier, and 3 by the opposition party; members serve 5-year terms) and the House of Assembly (36 seats; members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve up to 5-year terms)
elections: last held on 17 December 2012 (next to be held not later than 2017)
election results: percent of vote by party - OBA 51.7%, PLP 46.1%, other 2.2%; seats by party - OBA 19, PLP 17
Judicial branchhighest resident court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president and at least 2 justices); Supreme Court (consists of the chief justice, 4 puisne judges, and 1 associate justice); note - the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council, in London, is the court of final appeal
judge selection and term of office: Court of Appeal justice appointed by the governor; justice tenure by individual appointment; Supreme Court judges nominated by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission and appointed by the governor; judge tenure based on terms of appointment
subordinate courts: commercial court (began in 2006); magistrates' courts
Political parties and leadersOne Bermuda Alliance or OBA (Thad HOLLIS)
Progressive Labor Party or PLP (Marc BEAN)
Political pressure groups and leadersAssociation of Bermuda Insurers and Reinsurers or ABIR (Bradley KADING)
Association of Bermuda International Companies or ABIC (George HUTCHINGS)
Bermuda Employer's Council (Keith JENSEN)
Bermuda Industrial Union or BIU (Chris Furbert)
Bermuda Public Services Union or BPSU (Kevin GRANT and Ed BALL)
Bermuda Union of Teachers (Michael CHARLES)
International organization participationCaricom (associate), ICC (NGOs), Interpol (subbureau), IOC, ITUC (NGOs), UPU, WCO
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the USchief of mission: Consul General Mary Ellen KOENIG (since 27 November 2015)
consulate(s) general: Crown Hill, 16 Middle Road, Devonshire DVO3
mailing address: P. O. Box HM325, Hamilton HMBX; American Consulate General Hamilton, US Department of State, 5300 Hamilton Place, Washington, DC 20520-5300
telephone: (1) (441) 295-1342
FAX: (1) (441) 295-1592, 296-9233
Flag descriptionred, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Bermudian coat of arms (a white shield with a red lion standing on a green grassy field holding a scrolled shield showing the sinking of the ship Sea Venture off Bermuda in 1609) centered on the outer half of the flag; it was the shipwreck of the vessel, filled with English colonists originally bound for Virginia, that led to the settling of Bermuda
note: the flag is unusual in that it is only British overseas territory that uses a red ensign, all others use blue
National symbol(s)red lion
National anthemname: "Hail to Bermuda"
lyrics/music: Bette JOHNS

note: serves as a local anthem; as a territory of the United Kingdom, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)