The capital of Malta is Valletta, which at 0.8 km2, is the smallest national capital in the European Union.

Malta is a popular tourist destination with its warm climate, numerous recreational areas, and architectural and historical monuments, including three UNESCO World Heritage Sites: ─Žal Saflieni Hypogeum, Valletta, and seven Megalithic Temples, which are some of the oldest free-standing structures in the world.

Malta was awarded the George Cross by King George VI in 1942, for the country's bravery in the Second World War.

Malta was admitted to the United Nations in 1964 and to the European Union in 2004; in 2008, it became part of the Eurozone.

  • The largest export partner of Malta is Germany.
  • The largest import partner of Malta is Italy.
  • There are 2 seaports in Malta.

Tourist Attraction#

Tourism is the cornerstone of this Mediterranean nation's economy.

National Facts#

  • The national bird of Malta is Blue rock thrush.
  • The Maltese Centaury Paleocyanus Crasifoleus is the national flower of Malta.
  • The famous dishes of Malta are Pastizzi, Rabbit Stew.
Pastizzi, Foto: source: Wikicommons unter CC
Foto: source: Wikicommons unter CC