Jaluit Atoll in the Marshall Islands#

All pictures by H. Horizonte unless noted otherwise.

The Marshall Islands Marshall islands , officially the Republic of the Marshall Islands, is an island country. It is a United States associated state near the equator in the Pacific Ocean, slightly west of the International Date Line. Geographically, the country is part of the larger island group of Micronesia.

The population of some 50.000 is living on 29 coral atolls, with over 1.000 separate islands and islets. Over two-thirds of the population live in the capital and largest city Majuro Majuro on the coral atoll of the same name, some 150 km NE of the Jaluit Atoll Jaluit . Ebeje (or Ebeye) Ebeye , the secondary urban center, is located in the Kwajalein Atoll on an islet a bit N of the islet of Kwajalein. Kwajalein

Jaluit Atoll is a large coral atoll of 91 islands in the Pacific Ocean and is part of the Marshall Islands. Its total land area is a bit over 13 square kilometres, but it encloses a lage lagoon with an area of 690 square kilometres Most of the land area is on the largest islet (motu) of Jaluit (over 10 kmĀ²).