Viti Levu and Lautoka#

All pictures by H. Horizonte unless noted otherwise.

Fiji consists of an archipelago of more than 330 islands — of which 110 are permanently inhabited — and more than 500 islets, amounting to a total land area of about 18,300 square kilometres. The two major islands are Viti Levu and Vanua Levu.

The highest point is Mount Tomanivi (1.324 m) on the larger island Viti Levu. Viti Levu hosts the capital city of Suva, and is home to nearly three-quarters of the population of almost 900.000. Other important towns include Nadi (the location of the international airport), and Lautoka, Fiji's second city with large sugar cane mills and a seaport.