Ulaanbaatar, the capital and largest city, is home to about 45% of the population.

The country contains very little arable land, as much of its area is covered by grassy steppe, with mountains to the north and west and the Gobi Desert to the south.

On December 29, 1911 Mongolia declared independence from the Qing dynasty; the National Revolution of 1911 ended over 200 years of Qing rule, though it was not until the Revolution of 1921 that de facto independence from the Republic of China was firmly established.

In 1924 the Mongolian People's Republic was declared as a Soviet satellite state. After the anti-Communist revolutions of 1989, Mongolia conducted its own peaceful democratic revolution in early 1990.

  • Mongolia is a land locked country.
  • Mongolia has largest boundary with China which is approximately 4677 km.
  • Mongolia has shortest boundary with Russia which is approximately 3543 km.
  • The largest river in Mongolia is Yenisei which is 5540 km.
  • The largest export partner of Mongolia is China.
  • The largest import partner of Mongolia is China.
  • There is 1 seaport in Mongolia.

Tourist Attraction#

One of the highest countries in the world, Mongolia is a land of harsh extremes—snowy mountains, wide expanses of grassy steppe, and windswept desert.

National Facts#

  • The national bird of Mongolia is Saker falcon.
  • The national sports of Mongolia are Archery, Mongolian wrestling and Horse racing.
  • The famous dish of Mongolia is Buuz.
Buuz, Foto: source: Wikicommons unter CC
Foto: source: Wikicommons unter CC