Isle of Man: Government#

Country nameconventional long form: none
conventional short form: Isle of Man
abbreviation: I.O.M.
etymology: the name "man" may be derived from the Celtic word for "mountain"
Dependency statusBritish Crown dependency
Government typeparliamentary democracy (Tynwald); a Crown dependency of the UK
CapitalDouglas Douglas
geographic coordinates: 54 09 N, 4 29 W
time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Administrative divisionsnone; there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 24 local authorities each with its own elections
Independencenone (British crown dependency)
National holidayTynwald Day, 5 July (1417); date Tynwald Day was first recorded
Constitutionhistory: development of the Isle of Man constitution dates to at least the 14th century
amendments: proposed as bills in the House of Keys by the "Government," by a "Member of the House," or by outside bodies or private individuals through petition to the House or Council; passage normally requires three separate readings and approval of at least 13 House members; following both House and Legislative Council agreement, assent is required by the lieutenant governor acting on behalf of the Crown; the constitution has been expanded and amended many times, last in 2015 (2016)
Legal systemthe laws of the UK, where applicable, apply and include Manx statutes
Citizenshipsee United Kingdom
Suffrage16 years of age; universal
Executive branchchief of state: Lord of Mann Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Lieutenant Governor Sir Richard GOZNEY (since 27 May 2016)
head of government: Chief Minister Howard QUAYLE (since 4 October 2016)
cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the lieutenant governor
elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; lieutenant governor appointed by the monarch; chief minister indirectly elected by the Tynwald for a 5-year term (eligible for second term); election last held on 4 October 2016 (next to be held in 2021)
election results: Howard QUAYLE (independent) elected chief minister; Tynwald vote count - 21 of 33
Legislative branchdescription: bicameral Tynwald or the High Court of Tynwald consists of the Legislative Council (11 seats; includes the President of Tynwald, 2 ex-officio members - the Lord Bishop of Sodor and Man and the attorney general (non-voting) - and 8 members indirectly elected by the House of Keys with renewal of 4 members every 2 years; elected members serve 4-year terms) and the House of Keys (24 seats; 2 members directly elected by simple majority vote from 12 constituencies to serve 5-year terms)
elections: House of Keys - last held on 22 September 2016 (next to be held in September 2021)
election results: House of Keys - percent of vote by party - Liberal Vannin 6.4%, independent 91.7%; seats by party - Liberal Vannin 3, independent 21
Judicial branchhighest resident court(s): Isle of Man High Court of Justice (consists of 3 permanent judges or "deemsters" and 1 judge of appeal; organized into the Staff of Government Division or Court of Appeal and the Civil Division); the Court of General Gaol Delivery is not formally part of the High Court but is administered as though part of the High Court and deals with serious criminal cases; note - appeals beyond the Court of Appeal are referred to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London)
judge selection and term of office: deemsters appointed by the Lord Chancellor of England on the nomination of the lieutenant governor; deemsters can serve until age 70
subordinate courts: High Court; Court of Summary Gaol Delivery; Summary Courts; Magistrate's Court; specialized courts
Political parties and leadersLiberal Vannin Party (Kate BEECROFT)
Manx Labor Party
Mec Vannin (Bernard MOFFATT); (sometimes referred to as the Manx Nationalist Party; advocates a sovereign state and environment policies)
note: most members sit as independents
Political pressure groups and leadersAlliance for Progressive Government or APG (a government watchdog)
International organization participationUPU
Diplomatic representation in the USnone (British Crown dependency)
Diplomatic representation from the USnone (British Crown dependency)
Flag descriptionred with the Three Legs of Man emblem (triskelion), in the center; the three legs are joined at the thigh and bent at the knee; in order to have the toes pointing clockwise on both sides of the flag, a two-sided emblem is used; the flag is based on the coat-of-arms of the last recognized Norse King of Mann, Magnus III (r. 1252-65); the triskelion has its roots in an early Celtic sun symbol
National symbol(s)triskelion (a motif of three legs); national colors: red, white
National anthemname: "Arrane Ashoonagh dy Vannin" (O Land of Our Birth)
lyrics/music: William Henry GILL (English), John J. KNEEN (Manx)/traditional

note: adopted 2003, in use since 1907; serves as a local anthem; as a British Crown dependency, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom) and is played when the sovereign, members of the royal family, or the lieutenant governor are present